Not Handling it Well...

Me, that is...I'm not. I'm trying my darndest to keep it all together, but I feel like I fail miserably at times.

I work in a high-stress environment. I'm the "associate teacher" who specializes in behavior disorders at the local jr. high. All that means is that I'm a non-degreed teacher (does that make any sense to anyone else?) who, somehow, chose to work with the worst of the worst kids...and I love my job. But my position involves me working with the "gen. ed." students and most of the gen. ed. teachers (along with the special ed. teachers and students) keeping up with what each student is supposed to be working on in each subject, making sure that the work is done and turned in, and dealing with any "problems" that arise throughout the day. Have I mentioned I love my job? :lol:

The principal that I work under is wonderful...allowing me time, when needed, to help out with "Mom stuff" and asks all the time how things are going (and honestly cares what the answer is). I've shed more tears in front of my "boss" than I have in front of many of my friends.

All that being said...I feel like the walls are closing in around me recently. I know time is running out and I want to spend time with Mom. That's fine, work would allow me to take FML (family/medical leave)...but it's unpaid. :cry: I would normally say "screw it" and take it anyway, that's just the type of person I am. This is different, though. We have a new house and my income, for once, is necessary to make the mortgage payment. And we're not able to "cover it" from somewhere else in the budget for the time I'd be gone.

On top of all this...freaking insurace company is messing up every single claim that's come in from this pregnancy. I spend my day at work, then come home and spend a couple hours on the phone to the insurance company getting OB claims straightened out before I can start the nightly ritual of cooking/doing laundry/fixing lunches/picking up.