Dad's condition is worsening

yvetten

Well friends, it is with a very sad and regretful heart that I post this. My Dad's liver mets have grown quite a bit and his lung tumors have grown. I just spoke with the doctor over the phone and he said 3-6 months at the most. I am not one to pay much attention to numbers like this, but I can see with my own eyes that my Dad is in very bad shape.

This is so surreal. The odd thing is I feel a mixture between relieved and anxious. I have not cried. I am sort of in shock, but at the same time I saw this coming. The thing is, only two months ago, the doctor said the tumor had shrunk and he was doing so well. In a matter of two months, there has been very dramatic growth. I guess that is typical of adenocarcinoma, the doc said--very fast growing cancer.

My number one concern now is: 1) my Mom--she is in such denial; 2) being able to do my job--I am an attorney at a high stress job at a big firm and my job requires mental concentration, which I am lacking right now; 3) my Dad's comfort.

I just don't know . . . that's all I can say :cry:

Hi Yvette - sorry to hear about your Dad, I know exactly what you are going thru as my Dad has just recieved the news that he has less than a couple of months to live. He was told during chemo that his tumour had shrunk and that his cancer was stable but at the end of his chemos his CT scan showed spread to the other lung and pleural effusion. The Onc said there was nothing else they could do for him - we were all totally in shock.

Dad is now taking Tarceva as a last hope but obviously we have to wait and see if it helps him at all.

Take good care of your self and give your Dad a big hug.

Love

Dawn

Dawn: