Hello I am new to all this!

I am just wanting some support and friendship dealing with my fathers recent diagnosis. He is in stage 3 squamous cell lung cancer. My mom is a mess !!! I am dealing with a lot and trying to stay strong for my parents. Just wanted to check this site out and not feel so alone. My dad has a lot of hip pain and they seem to think it has nothing to do with the cancer. he has had diagnostic tests done they say he has nerve compression is this commen with his diagnosis?

Hi, Wendykay, and welcome to the LCSC! You've definitely found the right place for support and solid information. No matter what your question or situation, there undoubtedly are people here, both patients and family members, who have "been there, done that" and are ready to lend you a hand. Most of the crew is probably asleep right now, and you'll start hearing from them in the morning, but I'm out here in Hawaii (4 hours earlier than Colorado, if I remember my time zones correctly) and am happy to be the first to welcome you.

The more information you can provide the group, the more specific and helpful will be the responses you get. Any time you're able to spend writing a chronological "profile" of your father's symptoms, tests, diagnoses, treatments, side effects, etc. will be time well spent and will actually save you time in the long run. That way you don't have to give background every time you post -- just plunge into the subject at hand. To create a profile click "My Profile" at the top of the screen, scroll down to the "Signature" block, enter/expand/update your information, scroll some more and ensure "Always attach my signature" is marked "Yes," then "Submit."