The New Doctor

Debi

Well, I saw my new doctor today. This guy is Director of Pulmonary Medicine at a huge cancer and research hospital in the area- So the guy's really good, and I'm not really used to good.

The hospital is huge, its' like this giant metropolis that crawls over I don't know how many blocks and resembles a city. I was expecting to see hovercrafts above and the Jetsons waving at me. I mean, I'm in the big time now. And I'm nervous as hell because if there is anythign to find, these people will find it.

Long story short, I have to go for a CT in September, this was just a 'get acquainted' appointment. One thing that came up that I found interesting - I have been walking around for 4 years saying that they took out 17 lymph nodes and all were negative. Well, new Doctor drew me a picture (thankfully he chose medicine and not art as a career) and it appears that the lymph nodes that were taken were all close to where the lung was removed (at least he read my file). He pointed to these dots somewhere in the middle of my chest and said that he would have taken some lymph nodes that were further away also. He said that there is a 1 in 6 chance that the cancer migrates to those lymph nodes without showing up in the closer ones. Although 1 in 6 isn't a great chance, he said that it is still a chance and they don't like to leave chances.

It bothered me a little to know that and why he felt I needed to know that at this point. But then he went on to say that if they did find something in my CT in September, that it would most likely be a new primary. He also told me that in most cases, if my cancer was going to met to somewhere else, it would have done so by now. His words hit home somewhere and made me realize that its gone. All this time, learning to cope with the fear, going forward but always having that dark place. I never felt that it was gone, I felt it waiting, but I feel its gone now. He somehow made me feel that. I hope it lasts.