Weak moment

kamataca

So, we teachers report back to school tomorrow. I am terrified.

How am I supposed to start a new school year? I have never done this before without Mom's support. We still don't know how the kids will get to and from school (Mom lived a block away from their school...I'd drop them off at her house in the morning and pick them up after work). If one more person says to me, "Don't worry----it will work out," I will jab a fork in his or her eye.

Mom died right as the school year ended last year. I limped through the last days and spent a good portion of the summer taking care of her 'details.' It can't be time to start a new year without her?!?

I have always been passionate about teaching, and I've always believed that my students recognized this in me, and that was part of the reason we worked so well together. I feel so empty inside---I don't think I can fake it, and they will see that. I feel like a fraud. At least last year, no matter how hard it got, we had hope. There would be another line of tx to pursue, another med to try. Now I feel like my ability to hope has been shredded. How can I start a new year with no hope in my heart? My students deserve better.

I just don't know what to do. I feel like I am on the ledge. At least I don't feel like jumping...only because I don't believe that would help either. So sorry to freak out here tonight, but DH is gone right now, and I'm in a weak moment.

Kelly