RETURN TO WORK WITH STAGE IIIB NSCLC, ADENOCARCINOMA

Dollfinn

I am not sure if I am being realistic, or just pressing on. I am 49 and up until 6/07 was working full time. I completed a VERY AGGRESIVE chemo/radiation protocol, and while I await scans (full of scanxiety), I want to return to my very busy job, I am a nurse~ any thoughts, has anyone done it? All posts welcome. Mary

Mary,

If that is what you feel like doing, there's no reason not to go back to work. A lot of people around here have a wide variety of work issues. Some have worked straight through treatment, some took time off and returned, others aren't able to return, and some are retired. Just depends on how each person's cancer is behaving and whether it impinges on their work/lifestyle. Every human body is quite unique as to the overall reaction to treatment and how it manifests itself.

Good luck on your decision.

Welthy

I am a nurse also. I was diagnosed 12/3/97. I had just turned 50. I was suppose to start a new job 12/15/97. Guess what with daily radiation, chemo then thorocotomy and back to chemo, I was late getting started with that new job.

Finally after getting my blood counts up went to work at the hospital in April of 98, just 4 months late and have been there ever since. This summer I turned 60, the gals I work with were surprised I was that old!

What kind of place do you work?

Donna G

Donna~

Kuddos to you! Just the message I was looking for. Im not sure what the Dr. will tell me next Wens. I feel out of my Tx loop but my onc. has gotten me this far. I didnt get the idea surgery is in my future. More medistnal lymph nodes involved then the 1.9cm in RLL. My Dr. is a more deal w/ the moment type of guy, he does not acknowledge "B" until "A" is complete. ( I did have some large bumps in the road). Really I just think 1/2 of me is afraid, and the other 1/2 wants to look past yesterday.