Introduction from New Mexico

lorbethm

Hi, everyone. I'm a newbie to this board, but not to the world of Internet communities. :) Thanks to Ken for introducing me to this board. :)

I am a 37 year old non-smoker who has been rudely introduced to the world of lung cancer with the diagnosis of neuroendocrine carcinoma in October. I had a lung resection on October 11th where my lower right lobe was removed along with a tumor that had two lobes. I also had 11 lympnodes removed at the same time. All the lymphnodes came back clear, as did the margins. My pathology report states, though, that lymphvascular invasion was identified, so I'm assuming that I will start learning about the wonderful world of chemo beginning next week. I am a patient at MD Anderson, and I thank God for the doctors there every day. I am stage IB.

My cancer was found by "accident" (I say by God-cident) when my appendix ruptured in August. They were doing CT scans at our local hospital trying to figure out what was wrong with me when they found the two masses in my lungs. After I recuperated from that surgery and a 13 day hospital stay, I went down to Scott & White for a bronchoscopy and biopsy. They initially diagnosed me with SCLC but then two days later decided it was a hamartoma. I then made the smart decision to head on down to MD Anderson for a 2nd opinion. It was after my lung resection that the final diagnosis was made.