Writing an analysis, would appreciate your input

JYE

Hello everyone,

I hope this is appropriate to ask in these forums. I am a university student who is writing an analysis on living with or managing an illness, and I chose lung cancer because I had a relative who struggled and lost the battle several years ago. My question for people who are patients or whose loved ones are patients is what specific concerns or worries do you have going through the diagnosis and treatment process for lung cancer. When I say 'specific' I mean pertaining to lung cancer as opposed to other forms of cancer. For example, I've heavily researched the interpretation and responses to the question "Did you smoke?" and its appropriateness in conversation. I would like to learn more, and if anyone would like to comment I would greatly appreciate your help.

Brian

Hi, Brian:

I'd say your request is VERY appropriate, and I applaud you for it.

With your research on the "did you smoke" question you've probably heard many angles, and they've all been discussed here at one time or another. The motivations for such a question range from a callous "you should have known better" or "you deserved it" through simple curiosity and the inability to come up with a better comment to a perhaps unconscious desire to feel safer -- "Everyone I've asked so far has said yes, and I don't smoke, so maybe I won't get lung cancer." Of course we know that's not true, and it seems to be getting less true every day.

One thing that's different about lung cancer compared to many other cancers, and many other serious diseases, is that we seem to be in a fuzzy transition zone between a practically automatic death sentence and a fairly high probability of cure. You can find many examples of diseases that were generally fatal years ago which today can be effectively treated if and when they do occur. This can be said of some cancers as well.