Normal Reaction?

AndyT

I'm new to the dealing with cancer questions, so not sure if you my reaction to question is "normal".

I was just leaving a business meeting and a gentlemen said he was sorry to hear my dad was just dx with cancer. I thanked him and he asked what type, so I tell him. First thing his partner said "Is he a smoker?".

I wanted to choke him! Opted for saying yes and walking away. Is this feeling normal? If so, does it fade with time?

Nope it doesn't fad. We have had NUMEROUS conversation here at LCSC about this very same thing. Just had one not to long ago on the board somewhere???

When they ask, you might want to say something like,

"Why do you ask that?" Put it back in there lap.

PEOPLE ARE NOT EDUCATED when it comes to lung cancer. MOST people believe it's a SMOKERS DISEASE and that's IT! :roll:

Your in for a bumpy ride. Not to mention when people say things like that, they tend to be saying "SHAME SHAME SHAME!" :x Lung cancer is the ONLY cancer with a stigma attached to it or a BLAME issue attached to it. It's hard to live it down. We keep working at it though!

Good luck! Stay strong!

Yes, there was a thread not too long ago on this very subject. I had posted that I used to ask that question myself. I am embarassed to say that. But for me it was more of my hypochondriac tendancies kicking in. I wanted reassurance that I was safe from getting lung cancer. I learned the hard way that smoking is certainly not the only cause of lung cancer. My mom, who was a never smoker, had lung cancer. After my mom was diagnosed I started to do a lot of research and realized just how in the dark people are about lung cancer. I recently had an article about this very subject printed in 3 of our local newspapers. I wanted people to know that smoking was not the only cause. Even if it was the only cause, it doesn't make it hurt any less when your spouse, parent, or loved one is diagnosed.