A Very Difficult Patient: Better Prognosis?

Starr13

So, a few weeks ago, my radiation oncologist told me that I am a very difficult, frustrating patient.

I told her, well, hmmm, sorry, I've never been a cancer patient before, I suppose I'm not very good at it. Actually, I've never been a "patient" of consequence of any kind before: the last time I needed a doctor for anything was for a sinus infection like 10 years ago, and, 10 days of antibiotics fixed the problem. And since extensive sclc isn't a 10 day, $25 fix, please pardon the confusion while I get adjusted to this...

Actually, I'm not a terrible patient - but I absolutely DO ask a lot of questions, verify all information, refuse medications that I do not believe are appropriate, and I also inquire about items of research etc. I am always very respectful and courteous and I bracket everything in "please" and "thank you", but, I am very aggressive and demanding in terms of my health care. I will also ask the same question ten times and ten different ways to make sure the answer comes out the same. And, I happily pay the $22 to download complete articles from the Journal of Clinical Oncology or other periodicals (the abstract never tells the complete story) and bring them to my appointments and ask questions. And I have no problem breaking or bending rules, if common sense and circumstances warrant it.

As an aside, the appointment with my radiation oncologist ended with her hugging me, so, we did part on good terms in spite of the trouble I tend to cause for her. And I do have good relationships with my doctors, but, I take a sort of "trust but verify" position that probably drives them a little nuts.