brain metastasis after propylactic irradiation

dragonfly0521

Hello all. Newbie here. I'll first give you the history.

Who: My Mom

Diagnosis: Limited SCLC- Sep. 2006

Treatment: Chemo and simultaneous radiation to chest. Upon complete response began Prophylactic cranial irradiation in Jan. 2007.

Okay, this past week we took mom in to the doctor because we've noticed some difficulties in her speech. She couldn't say the correct words some times and we also noticed that money got her a little confused.

Her doctor orded a CT scan and sure enough it looks like a tumor. They started her on steroids to relieve the swelling that is probably causing symptoms.

She is scheduled for an MRI on Wednesday (Jan.2, 2008) and meets with her Oncologist on the 3rd.

***Sadly, we are scheduled to leave on the 4th for a "Last Hurrah trip to Disney World" with my mom!!! The nurses all told us to go and enjoy and treatment could easily wait a week. So we are planning on going as we would rather her get this big fun family trip in before it is too late.***

Anyway, does anyone here know of what to expect next? Can she even have more radiation since she already had the PCI? Is Chemo really an option since it doesn't go to the brain? Or is this a treat the symptoms and plan for the end kind of thing? We are grateful for every day we get with her. But the more we prepare and educate ourselves, the better, so all help and suggestions are greatly appreciated.