New to LCSC- Father recently diagnosed with NSCLC, Stage IV

amieb

Hello,

Like many people, I am really new to this whole cancer thing. My father was officially diagnosed last week and still unofficially as stage IV. The cancer is in his lungs, lymphnodes, ribs and lower back. He's in a lot of pain and I am really scared.

I hear nothing but bad about this stage. That people in stage IV don't survive the year. I want to help him and I don't know how.

So I'm here to meet people and cry with people and get some support. This sucks big time and I just don't know what to do.

Thanks and I look forward to meeting, learning and probably crying with everyone else on this site.

Amieb,

I am so sorry that you had to find reason to be here, but you will find much support from everyone here. Your post was so familiar that I felt like I wrote it myself. My dad was just diagnosed this past October. He just finished with his radiation and chemo treatments and is doing well. He is going back to work tomorrow for the first time since Christmas. My dad is staged at IIIa and we are hoping that when he has his next set of scans in 3 months that he will be a surgical candidate. There are many here that are stage IV that can give you lots of hope and advice.

The best thing you can do is to not listen to the statistics and know that every person is different. Take a deep breath and just take one day at a time. Getting his treatment plan into place will also make you feel better. You will soon learn that you are stronger than you ever knew you could be. We are here to support you, cry with you, and yes, even laugh with you to. You, your father, and your family will join in my list of prayers. Your dad is very lucky to have you.

Blessings,

Teresa

Hi, welcome to the group!

You're right that the statistics are not good with stage IV lung cancer, but there will always be people on the winning side of the numbers and you'll be hearing from some of them soon.