When is MRI for mets assessment given?

mandycat

Hi all,

Newbie here, just joined today. I hope my moms profile is showing up (trying to figure this out!)

She was diagnosed last October with stage IIIa nsclc. She has had numerous tests, the usual battery, x-rays, CTs etc. but no MRI has been done. I mention this because before her dx she had vision problems and an odd head pain that radiated into her face. She went to an ophthalmologist and had dx of early glaucoma (according to her, luv my mom but she is really bad at remembering what docs say). She was given 2 different rx drops and seemed to be o.k. but of course the cancer dx came right after. Never sure if this was incidental or somehow related. She never mentioned this to the oncologist.

Now to present, she has had one eye with redness in the corner, symptomless but a little concerning to me. Despite the fact that I worry easily, she hasn't had any scans of her head. I have been working on retrieving reports from various tests but I don't have the PET scan result. I have heard MRI scans are more sensitive in lesion detection. My question if I can articulate one, is when would an MRI be ordered? Does the doctor need to have suspicion before ordering this test? :?

Thanking you in advance,

Michele

Hi, Michele:

This article from OncTalk by our much appreciated Dr. West should answer your questions:

http://onctalk.com/2007/04/05/intro-to-brain-mets/

In a nutshell, it states that for NSCLC, there is no clearly established standard as to whether an MRI of the brain should be included in a patient's initial workup. It also explains why an MRI is superior to a CT scan and especially superior to a PET or CT/PET scan for detecting brain mets.

My diagnosis is NSCLC (adenocarcinoma) IIIb. I had a CT scan, bone scan, and brain MRI before starting chemo. My PET scan didn't come until a year later (see my profile). Aloha,

Ned