Wish I wasn't here...

lynn

You are all so brave...it's amazing...I'm falling apart

I have a long story...going back to 1983.My 53 year old father was diagnosed with SCLC with mets to the liver.After a few months of prayers and chemo... he had a complete response and PCI.As a nurse I knew it was a matter of time before the cancer returned.Well,I waited and waited...

Then in 1997 my Mom was diagnosed with SCLC with adrenal mets.She fought hard but passed away.She required a lot of care toward the later stages which my sister ,2 brothers and I gladly gave. She was my best friend and I miss her dearly.

I filled my time with my three kids and my Dad stays one or 2 nights a week.

Now 20 years after his original dignosis,he has been dignosed with SCLC with mets to kidney.I feel badly for him as he is 74 and lives alone...I don't know what can be donefor him in terms of treatment.We still have a week before seeing the onc...so I just listen to him cough and I cry.He says he will be fine.He was told Apr 1st...the day before his birthday....

Lynn

I am also very new to these boards having just been diagnosed with SCLC with mets to Liver on 2/14 but my heart goes out to you. Losing your mother is one of the worst things you can go through, I lost my mom over 20 years ago and still miss her every day and now with your Dad's diagnosis no wonder you are falling apart. Try to keep positive thoughts and take it one day at a time, your Dad had an amazing long period of remission, I have never heard of a SCLC case living for that many years, he is truly amazing and perhaps will amaze you again, he sounds like a really strong man.

Prayers going out to you and your dad. I have only been posting for a day or two but have found so many wonderful people on these boards and they really have helped me already

God be with you and your dad

Bess B

Hi Lynn,

I just wanted to let you know that you are NOT alone!!