New post - my dad has cancer - we are all so scared

Diane

This is my first time on this site. My dad was diagnosed yesterday with lung cancer and the dr said the liver was involved, which most likely accounts for his lack of appetite. They haven't done a biopsy yet, but are doing one on Mon or Tues, but they have done a cat scan of the stomach, which they did did because he had lost his appetite. The dr then ordered a ct of the chest and blood tests. I don't know how they knew the liver was involved. When they did the ct scan of the stomach, they caught the tip of the lung mass on the scan, but no-one ever said anything about the liver. They told us it was a 1 inch mass on the lung, so we were a little hopeful, but after the news about the spread to the liver, we are all just heartsick. The dr said there is always hope, but it pretty much got lost in all the other scary things he told us. I don't know how to comfort my mom and dad, but they do have 3 of us kids who will be there for them for whatever they need. My dad is so skinny, I am worried he won't be able to withstand the chemo. Where's a good place to start on this website to find people who are in similar positions? Thank you.

Hi Diane. Sorry you had to find us, but you came to the right place. I'm sure folks will start replying to you very soon.

My husband has not lost his appetite this time, but he couldn't eat solid food several years ago when he was battling non-hodgkin's lymphoma. He drank Ensure. It comes in a few flavors. Larry liked the vanilla. As a matter of fact, I have some in my pantry now, just in case I need it.

Lynn

Qelcome to the board! Sorry you have to be here, but this is a great place to get help and support. They can see part of the liver when they do a CT scan of the chest.