introduction

dfourer

Hi. I'm 53 years old, and living with stage 4 lung cancer 4+ years now. Interested to hear from anyone with any similarities, to share experience and insight about treatments. I studied biology of cancer a lot during my first year of illness. I read latest published literature every few months. I'm also HIV+ for over 20 years. I've learned that knowledge makes a difference, though I don't know why I've lived so long. Living in Chicago, IL, gay, single most of my life, living with gay friends.

Hi, dfourer. My husband's journey is with sclc, so his treatment plan has been different than yours, but I wanted to welcome you to the site. I have found the people here to be very knowledgeable and supportive. The site has been down for much of the day, but I expect you will be receiving responses as soon as folks realize that we are up and running again.

Lynn

Hi, welcome to the group, and thanks for the detailed profile. It's great to see the impressive results you've had with Alimta, not only on your account, but also for those of us who may be getting that drug somewhere down the road.

I do have a question about this item in your profile:

--November 2007 after about 40 cycles of Alimta, CT shows clear progression of dissease. I'm feeling fine. Begin combo Alimta and Avastin (7.5 mg/kg Avastin at my request). next CT is return to baseline.

Are you saying that after adding Avastin, your next CT scan DID show a return to baseline, i.e., improvement back to where it was before the November 2007 clear progression? If so, I think that's remarkable. Also, was there a particular reason you asked for the 7.5mg/kg rather than the more standard 15? I've heard that one trial showed the two dosages to have similar effectiveness, but 15mg/kg is standard for lung cancer because that's the way the primary trial that got Avastin approved for lung cancer was structured. If I got that wrong, please don't hesitate to correct me.

Best wishes and Aloha,

Ned