Member of British NHS comes to US for Trial!!

Last week I returned home from the United States after taking part in a trial to treat my supposedly incurable cancer. I am an NHS consultant and I happened across the trial in the course of researching my condition. Its results look promising — I am feeling surprisingly well for someone diagnosed with an aggressive form of lung cancer 17 months ago — but the chances are that if you were a cancer patient, your NHS doctor would not even have told you such a trial existed.

Such experiments are out of bounds to patients in our NHS, though anyone is eligible to try the new drug treatment in Philadelphia, fully funded by the US government to the tune of £20,000 per person. All that is required is the cost of travel and board on a few visits. A number of international patients have taken advantage of the offer, but I am the first one from the UK. Why?

Mesothelioma is a form of cancer caused by exposure to asbestos — in my case, most probably at the London hospital where I spent six years training. The standard prognosis looks dire: the median survival is 12 months. Long survivors are a rarity, but hopefully increasingly more common.

Trials of new drugs or therapies might make all the difference to people with a cancer that is difficult to treat. So why shouldn’t patients in the NHS be able to try such innovative trials in the US — or elsewhere — if they wish? Is it really the cost? We happily expend health resources on treatments and operations that do not work or have minimal effect. My travel expenses amounted to far less than an operation in the NHS, where it costs £450 a day just to keep a patient in hospital. I suppose the argument is that it would open the floodgates. Hardly: there are only about 1,500 new mesothelioma patients a year, some of whom would not be fit enough to travel to the US. Many cannot afford to do so, particularly the dock workers and laggers who are most commonly affected.