Introducing myself - sunnyside

sunnyside

I am new to this message board and wanted to introduce myself. My lung cancer history is in my signature. I am a physician and had to overcome some of my own prejudices from medical school and residency to get behind fighting this disease, but fighting I am. Feeling better than I expected and doing my best to stay positive.

Welcome, sorry you have to be here. Unfortunately this disease affects many people of many different walks of life. But I am glad you found us. We are a great group to help pick each other up at times, or make each other laugh when needed and most important just to "listen". Hope all goes well with you please keep us updated.

Heidi

Hello Lisa. I am an RN. I also was diagnosed at age 50. This disease, as you have learned can strike anyone. I also went to the Dr. because of pain. When I was told it was not an orthopedic problem, it was lung cancer, I knew my prognosis was bad.

The good news is soon I will celebrate my 61st Birthday!

Since my treatment and getting back to work I have a whole new idea of what my patients are going through that have been diagnosed with Cancer.

Welcome to our group. Keep us posted on how you are doing and how your family is coping.

DonnaG

Welcome Lisa

We have a great group here of very supportive member's. Everyone looks out for each other and is always there for moral support. It is also a place for you to vent if that helps.

Hi, Lisa.

Sorry you have to be here, but glad you found us. I can't begin to imagine how much more difficult the initial adjustment is for those like yourself and Donna who know--as medical professionals--the instant you are given your diagnosis just how bad it is, compared to the rest of us, whose knowledge is gained in in incremental steps.

The good news is that this is a great support group in every way--emotional, informational, educational, intellectual and spiritual. I don't know what I'd do without them.

Carole