Just Had Thoracic Surgery

TJ

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting I have only known about this sight for a couple of weeks. I had surgery Feb. 12, 2003, they removed the upper right lobe. Was diagnosed with stage 1A NSCLC. It was a miracle that mine was found. My primary Dr. was closing his practice in Dec. 2002 and I had to find a new Dr. When I switched the new Doc ordered a chest x-ray as routine for a new patient, the last chest x-ray I had was in 1997 that one was clear. Two days after the x-ray the Drs. office called me at work and told me to come in that day. The Dr. said the tech. had acctually put a size to the spot on the film and that raised his antenna, he is a gen. practitioner but has done pulmonary. From there he ordered a CT scan and it was there also 2.8 cm. He sent me to a Pulmonary Spec. and he did a Broncoscopy but they were unable to get enough to make a diagnosis which I had to wait 1 week to find this out. Then he did a needle biopsy then waited 3 days the nurse called told me the results were positive, when I asked if that meant it was malignant she told me not necesarily(but I thought that was what they were checking for). This all happened the two weeks before Christmas which was very stressful for me. The end of Jan. went back to the Pulmonologist and he confirmed what I already knew it was malignant. He is a good Christian man and actually had prayer with us in his office that day which I have never had a Dr. do before. He called and got me in to see a thoracic surgeon the next day which I found out later that he is one of the best thoracic surgeons in our area. Didn't have my surgery for two weeks because I had to have more scans. Everything went great the cancer was contained in that lobe everything else was clear so I didn't have to have rad or chemo.