Chemo after 2nd lobectomy ???

jbonnema

Hello. I am new to LCSC and looking to find support for my mom who is starting chemo on Wednesday. She was first diagnosed with Stage 1 NSCLC in August of 2007. She had 1 localized tumor approx. 3cm. Underwent an upper lobectomy on the left side. All went well. No chemo or radiation recommended. 18 months passed she was doing well. In Jan. 2009, found reoccurence on left side in lower lobe. 1 single tumor again/approx. 1/2 inch in size. Underwent wedge resection to remove on 1/29/09. Met with cancer doctor last week and was recommended to begin chemo on Wednesday with a carboplatin/taxol combo 1x/3 weeks for 4 sessions. My mom is a very strong and positive person and feels she wouldn't be fighting hard enough if she didn't at least give this a try but we are all terrified of what the next couple of months may bring. No family history of chemo so we are all leaving our faith in the doctors hands that this is a preventative measure to hope that if there are any remaining cells lingering that the chemo prevent another reoccurence. Can anyone shed some light on their experience with carbo/taxol chemo ????

Hi, welcome to the group. Taxol/Carboplatin is a very common first-line treatment for NSCLC, and many of us here have had that combination. Practically everyone experiences hair loss and some degree of fatigue, but the other side effects vary considerably from one person to another. Some people develop peripheral neuropathy (numbness and tingling and shooting pains in the hands and feet) after being on Taxol for a while — it's a cumulative effect and may not reversible if it goes too far — and it needs to be reported to the oncologist immediately. I encountered neuropathy during my 6th cycle, but I had been advised to be on the lookout for it, and a quick call to my onc got me on medication which resolved the problem.