introducing myself

millie's girl

I will never forget the day that my mom informed me that she had a "spot" on her lungs. Me being a Registered Nurse, I knew what was next but I prayed for the best. We went through the standard tests for a lung cancer diagnosis (Chest X-ray, CT scan, broncoscopy & CT guided biopsy). On August 26, 2009 @ approximately 1:10 PM; my greatest fears knocked at my front door and took up residence in my life. My mom told me that the biopsy confirmed that she had lung cancer. My mother raised my sister (40 y.o.), myself (37 y.o.) & my brother (27 y.o.) with an iron fist but with a lot of love. She has been the BACKBONE for 15 siblings as well as for our individual families. She has a big heart and this had devastated everyone that knows her. She is loved by sooooo many people in our small community. She and my stepfather have been married for 24 years and this has been very difficult for him as well. Both of my mother's parents died from lung cancer. Neither of them had treatment. My grandmother lived 5 years after being diagnosed. My grandfather lived 3 years after being diagnosed. My mother has been adament that she doesn't want treatment. My siblings and I have been supportive of her decision. Her pulmonologist indicates that she has non-small cell lung cancer (stage 2A or 2B). He would like for her to have surgery but my mother is totally against this idea. Her siblings have been talking to her and she has decided to at least see an oncologist. Her appointment is Monday, September 21, 2009. I will be accompanying her to this appointment and any other appointments. My mom is my greatest inspiration. She has been there for me through all of my life ups & downs. She has been the one consistency regardless of my circumstances. I have had a very difficult time dealing with this situation. I am a woman of faith and this situation has shaken my faith to its core. I've cried soooooo many tears over the past month. It's been really hard for me.