Morphine/Xanax: Effects of drugs vs effects of cancer

Guest Searching4Insight

Guest Searching4Insight

I'm new to this discussion board. In looking through the messages, I've found you all to be very helpful and supportive and wondering if you might have some insight for me and my family.

My father was diagnosed with Stage 4 LC with mets to brain, adrenal, lymphnodes and both lungs in Feb. He was hospitalized in early March (convincing the dr's to give him 1st round of chemo while on ventilator--he's a fighter). Like many of your family members, he was told he wasn't likely to breathe on his own again and probably wouldn't live more than a few days even on ventilator. He has been home for almost 3 weeks now (off the vent).

During and since the hospitalization, he has times where he is almost lucid but many times where he is very disoriented. Today is the worst he has been...groggy, unable to feed self, no strength to move at all, etc.

We have been wondering how much of this might be due to his medication (he is on very low doses of morphine continuously and Xanax for shortness of breathe episodes). He refuses to take any extra morphine but is willing (now) to take Xanax as needed.

I'm wondering if anyone else had experience where morphine was causing grogginess and the doctors approved weaning (he has no pain, morphine is for air hunger only). Any other breathing drugs that have less psychological impacts?

Quality of life is very important to my dad, I hate to see him so disoriented if there is some other option for him. He is on hospice so doctors aren't aggressive in thinking through his situation, I fear.

Any insight, hope or hard reality experience would be appreciated. Thanks so much.

My mother had some of the effects that you describe your father having.