Wet Behind the Ears

Melanie86

Hello Everyone,

I'm new here. To this website, and to the whole experience involving cancer.

I'm only 6 days in, since I've been told I have cancer. The night befor Christmas Eve.

I've gotten pneumonia 4 times this year, and 3 times were in the span of a month and a half. The 2nd last time my cough never went away, and the very last time I got it, it took almost 2.5 weeks for the fever to go away, forget about the coughing.

I was sent to see a respirologist, he wanted me to have a bronchoscopy, when I got the results, he showed me pictures of a tumour that's collapsed and completely blocked off one of my bronchials (which is why I kept getting pneumonia - prone to infection)

it's called a neuro-endocrine carcinoid tumour - rare, slow growing, usually in people ages 50+, usually found in the stomache area, spreads to the liver, releases hormones, doesn't respond to chemo/radiation well.

I'm just starting out. Tomorrow I get bloodwork done, when results are in I'm getting my first CT to see if it's spread, and to see the extent of the tumour in my lung. Then I'll meet my surgeon and find out the game plan.

Doctor said I'll be getting my RML removed if not half of my R lung.

Any advise in starting out? Tips for surgery??? How painful is it when you wake up? Enough to yell or cry?

Advise would be VERY helpful at this time.

Sincerely, Melanie

Wow, so sorry to read of your diagnosis, but glad you found us.

I can't offer any information about your rare type of cancer, but I do know about lung surgery. I just passed the second anniversary of my own surgery which removed the upper lobe of my left lung. I've ridden my bicycle almost 7,400 miles this year, so while it is a tough surgery, you can make a great recovery from it.