calm,cool and collected

hi i am new to this whole thing so please all bare with me i was dx with lung cancer in march of 2010 so far it is contained in my left lung(8cm) with no sign of spreading any farther i have read 100s of post on here and my heart goes out to each and every one of you my issue is since i have been diagnosed i feel no emotion towards the whole thing i go on with my day to day life as if the doctors never told me that i had cancer is this normal or am i going to wake up one day and just totally freak out i know that its very serious and my family and friends are all worried about me and wonder why im not more concerned about it myself is this normal ive never really been sick but watched my grandfather who i loved dearly die of lung cancer im not really sure how i should act and would really just like someone to talk to i have a hard time talking with my family and friends because i see how it distresses them

Hi Debbie - Welcome to the board so sorry you have a need to be here. I can not answer the question regarding emotions as I have not personally had cancer. I just wanted to take a minute and welcome you and let you know that there are many ppl on this board that will have advice for you. You sound like an amazingly strong woman and I will add you to my prayer chain.

((hugs))

Heidi

Live your life the way you want ! Dont let the cancer live your life! My late wife painted the interior of the house painted portraits and went to school and took classes for Art as well as trips and worked when she wanted to! SHe had her own car for a while even though we were on a tight budget!! IF she wanted to go some where we went ! within reason of course!

Thats just my 2 cents in there!!!

Debbie,