Hello, I am new to all this

Vortex

Hi everyone

64 days ago my mother, age 55 years, was diagnosed with lung cancer. As shocking as it may sound, I do not know what type or what stage, but I do know its not stage 1. I realise after reading some posts here that I need an education, Lung Cancer 101.

But more than that, it has been really tough to watch the suffering. It looks like I have come to the right place for some support.

its hard to describe where to start but...

Do you go to appointments with your Mom by chance? She should have someone go along with her and stay with her. It gets to be very long and lonely by yourself. Can you call her doctor if You can not go with her! You need to be on the lists of people in the loop!

Make sure she keeps a notebook of questions and answers to the questions and appointments as well.

Has she started any treatment yet? That kind of settles the emotions down some knowing that treatment has started.

Hang in there and we will get you on track ASAP!!

Thanks for your response, Randy

Here is what I know

The first cancer they found was on some of her vertebrae. They then found cancer in one of her lungs, on her adrenal gland and lymph glands and on her femur.

They have done radiation on the bone cancer and she has started chemo, I am not sure what, but it takes 5 hours every 3 weeks.

In the last 2 months there has not been a single week that she has not ended up in hospital for some reason or the other.

Fluid builds up on her lung that has to be drained, almost weekly.

The reason why I am fairly uninvolved is because I live far away from her. My father is very involved in her care, very hands on. He goes with her to her chemo sessions and he takes care of her afterwards. It has made her extremely ill.

I am flying out to be with them this weekend, so I will ask all the necessary questions so that I can start my education.