How to be a caregiver when distance in an issue?

There are many different types of caregivers with a variety of responsibilities-

Spouses, family members, friends and professionals who care for someone who has cancer in several different ways. Some take on physical responsibilities, others are emotionally supportive and others will do a range of things- from dispensing medications to transportation to and from medical appointments and overseeing nutritional needs.

But there are alot of families where distance is an issue.

How can someone be a caregiver (a source of support) when distance is an issue?

Pls share your experiences. I know your posts will help others just starting on this journey who may be feeling helpless.

Thank you all in advance!!

Hugs,

K

How did you guess that I needed to say something.

My wife Pat dianosed with lung and spinal cancer lives at our home in Durban South Africa. Unfortunatly I work in the construction industry and am away from home for most weeks. I always try and go home on a weeed if possible. The trip to Durban is about 260 ks a three hour drive.

At home I have a member of thefamily, my wifes nephew to help. Unfortunatly his help is confined to fetch and carry and also provides transport.

For the more personal issues there are a few very good friends that are able to domre of the nursing type dties.

When I am at home i look after my wife by myself. My medical background, I amm a qualified paramedic and I have worked in a construction hospital, has been a blessing as I am able to take good care of her and also anticipate problems and act accordingly.

To be a caregiver you must have a love for caring for the sick and injured. This I do for my wife with my whole heart and everything I have.