Newbie Here

I am Heather and my dad was diagnosed with lung cancer that has spread to his brain, kidneys and Spine. My mom and dad have decided that they are not going to do chemotherapy Intravenously but by pill. They have given my father 6 months to live and I am not excepting it very well.

Is there anyone here who is taking the Chemotherapy Pill?? I am doing as much research as I can before my dad's next visit on the 19th...

Hi Heather,

It is unusual to be given an opportunity of an oral chemo as a first line of treatment. Can you find out the name of the pill? The only likely candidate is Tarceva and that is generally a second line, though if he has been tested for the EGFR mutation and has it, they could get approval for use as a first line treatment.

The other oral pill for lung cancer is still in a trial and is not available as a first line of treatment that I know about.

Giving anyone with cancer a timeline is really unfair. There are statistics - but they measure a big group of people, not your Dad. No one can tell how well he may do, or how poorly. This is one of the difficult things about this diagnosis. They also can't necessarily know which treatment is best for an individual (we need more research!) So, take heart and know that there are many exceptions to the median survival times quoted. I guess I should be long gone by now, but I think that was me in the swimming pool this afternoon, and making cookies after that. I've been on Tarceva for 10 months. We have someone here who has been on it for over 5 years and she went back to work last fall.