Hello, I'm new to this

Alan

Hello everyone, my name is Alan. I'm a lc survivor. I had a pancoast tumor right apex. My treatment began in june 09. I had 30 radiation treatments and chemo (cisplatin + etopicide). After all that I was going to have surgery to remove what was left. That became impossible due to invasion of T1 vertebrae. Then I had 6 more chemo treatments with taxitere every 3 weeks. Plus 5 treatments at Cyberknife of Philly. All done by Jan. 2010. I've been on surveillance every 3 months since with no detectable cancer so far. That's the short history.

I just discovered this site in April's issue of Cancer fighters magazine. It comes from Cancer treatment centers of America. that is where all my work was done. I love that place and highly reccomend it to every one.

I was misdiagnosed for a couple months prior to our demands to look into my symptoms with a little more vigor. Primary Dr. kept calling it back spasms. There was big pain between shoulder blade and spine and tingling and numbness in right pinky and ring fingers. I also had coughing and was losing my voice. He said I had GURD so prescribed prilosec and muscle relaxers. He told me to call him if no releif in 3 to5 days. When I called back in 4 days, I was told he didn't have any openings to see me for 3 weeks. I know right.

I set up an appointment with a new Dr. next day. We met and I asked for a chest xray right now. I asked the radiology guy how long it would take for my new Dr. to get results. next morning by couriour I was told. Didn't hear anything for 22 days so I assumed there was nothing horrible. (mistake) Finally they called and said that there was a"density" consistant with a malignant tumor. They took the liberty of setting me up with a thorasic surgeon. His next available appt. guess yup 3weeks away.