Hello, I'm Heather and I'm new to the discussion boards.

My name is Heather, I'm 25 years old and I'm a lung cancer survivor. I had two-thirds of my right lung removed on January 20, 2011. This weekend I attended the first annual Hope Summit in Washington, DC. I had a really great time and met some pretty amazing people. I'm still emotionally dealing with the fact that I ever had cancer. The past few months I've felt angry because I feel abandoned by many the people in my life who disappeared after I received my diagnosis.

I'm a full-time college student at Wilmington University. I am currently a senior and will finish my classes at the end of the fall 2011 semester. I am majoring in Behavioral Science, and I plan to continue my education with a Master's degree in Clinical Mental Health Counseling and specialize in children & families. I work two jobs. One as a Certified Nursing Assistant, which I have been working every weekend for almost 6 years now. The last 3 years I have been a companion and advocate for an elderly woman in Philadelphia. I volunteer for the Big Brother/Big Sister organization as a Big Sister mentor, which I have been doing for a little over 1 year now.