I'm New, So Bear With Me!!

Guest alblanken

I am new to this so bear with me. I was dx'd in 02/10 with stage

1a adenocarcinoma in the upper left lobe. I had a uppper lobe lobectomy in 03/10...no chemo/rad. Everything since then has

been going great. I have had bloodwork every three months and

PET/CT scans every six with NED. The hardest part for me isn't

too much the scans, because I really rely on them for a "clean bill of health," if you will, but the psychological issues. There isn't a day that goes by that my mind rests on the issue of "do

I have cancer again?" It's been a year and a half!! Other health issues I have had have left my mind completely, but not this! I feel so extremely lucky that I even survived it all, dodged the bullet, as some say, but now I'm stressed out about not being so lucky the "next time." Family and friends don't even want to talk about any of it now because they just think "You've had the surgery, they took care of it, and it's gone." They don't know. Anyway, I guess I'm rambling because, here, I can. Thank you for listening. Dee

welcome to the place no one wants to be, but is glad they are under the circumstances!!!

Post away and get it off your mind! Also take a look a to good news and inspirational threads for some pick me ups news!!

Thank you for the welcome. When you said "but so glad you are," that hit home because, I AM SO GLAD I AM. I viewed

your memorial, and I want to say that I am very sorry for your

loss. I, too, have a "soul mate," and I cannot imagine my life without him. Thank you for your comments.

Dee, Welcome - you have stumbled on a great great ... support site. Like you I was staged 1A (twice!) and had surgery with no follow up therapy. I still worry constantly - but you will notice that many of the people here have managed to get past that psychological aspect. I understand where you are coming from - so do most people here.