New Comer with so many questions

Petunia

I am very new to this all (not just the cancer but also typing to other people on the computer.) I found this site weeks ago and would just endlessly search it, and then one day I said "Why not? Let me just type." As in a prior post, my mother just got diagnose with ext. sclc. "She was a smoker, as was I. She is not yet 70 and I am not yet 40. She has since quit since her diagnosis and I have also. She has smoked for over 40 years and I smoked for over 20. Quitting is the easiest and hardest thing I have done. Easiest because I know how dangerous it is and that it is taking my world away. Hardest because it has been my comfort, my friend, my stress reducer for so many years. For the smokers, have you quit or still smoked? I told my mother to just keep smoking because it was something she enjoyed, but can quitting help?

Ever since this "cancer word" came into our lives, and it has only been 3 weeks, it seems that every where we look cancer is following us. All of the t.v. shows have to do about cancer, conversations seem to lead to cancer. I look at others who I now can tell have had chemo... But the even more horrible part is I also look at others, and think "Why not them?".. they are so miserable, not enjoying life, no care to do anything with themselves or to even get out of bed. And this is making me seem like I have already turned into this different person. Like the "c" word has changed me. In actuality it has changed our whole lives. Nothing is the same once this word enters your family.