mpolacheck

Hello everyone my name is Marty. I am new to this. I was diagnosed with Stage IV NSCLC adenocarcinoma in November 2011. I finished 6 session of chemotherapy reluctantly 3 weeks ago. I have decided to seek alternative treatment instead of maintenance Alimta. My oncologists argument, the Alimta maintenance routine "significantly" prolongs lives. But in fact they are only talking about a few months and I strive for more than that. Looking for support and new ideas. :?

Good Morning Marty,

Sorry about the delay in responding to your post,it really is quiet around here,think, well for me here in Scotland , the sudden change in the weather last week from winter,now suddenly its summer ,so its out and about soaking up all that warm sunshine.

I really am sorry to read about your dx,first off, expirery dates,my GP gave me two years max,nearly 4 years ago,I also have a friend who was dxd with SCLC in 1993,given 2 months to live by his doc,he went on to make a full recovery,then in 2007,he is dxd with NSCLC,again makes a full recovery,today at 72,he is so full of the joys of life and has the energy of people half his age.

I can only reflect on my experience of treatments,which consisted of 4 cycles of neo adjuvant chemo,to try to reduce the size of the tumour in my upper right lung,to make it managable for surgery,otherwise I would have radiotherapy instead,well the chemo worked and in Jan 2009 I had a upper right lobectomy,since then I have received no further treatment.

Altima is not a drug I am familar with?you quote only it extending life for such a short time,to make it unattractive for you,by taking it.Are you aware of www.cancergrace.org?this site is manned by a team of oncologists who will answer any question you have about lung cancer,I can recommend you pay them a visit,the service is free and you well receive a prompt reply to any question put.