Need help finding Hope

Janet B

Hi everyone.  I have been missing from the boards for a few months, because,frankly, I have been missing from life for a few months.  A little background. In early July new mets showed up on my scans, miliary nodules in both lungs and a met in my spine.  The treatment plan was to stay on the Tarceva and Avastin but to add Carbo and Alimta every 3 weeks.  The plan was to do this for 4-6 weeks and then drop the Carbo and continue on the Alimta as a maintenance.  I was so hopeful and optimistic.  Supposedly, for most people, this is a very doable combo and the side effects did not seem at all frightening.

I guess I am not most people.  I have been totally debilitated by this combo.  I have extreme fatigue, can only walk about 20 feet without gasping for air, getting light headed and sitting down.  I can't get up the stairs, everyday tasks are nearly impossible.  I haven't cooked, cleaned, shopped, driven, gone to my farm, the beach, a friends etc etc in 3 months.  I just sit here on the couch and watch stupid tv (I have no concentration for books or crochet).  I feel this way until the day before or day of chemo, then it starts all over again.

My 6 week scans showed shrinkage and stability which was great news, but since my counts kept being so low and my quality of life so miserable, we stopped the Carbo after the 3rd cycle and continued on with the Alimta every 3 weeks as a maintenance (along with the Avastin and Tarceva).  The big hope was that without the Carbo, I would start to feel better.  I don't, not at all.  The  thought of feeling like this indefinitely is so depressing and defeating that I have forgotten about hope.  

Now my doctor wants to take me off the Alimta.