A Stack of Forgotten Papers / by Juhi Kunde

NikoleV

A Stack of Forgotten Papers

December 17th, 2012 - by Juhi Kunde

http://blog.lungevity.org/2012/12/17/a- ... en-papers/

Usually, my holidays are full of fun. My favorite part of the season is wrapping the presents my husband and I buy together. But this year, I have to do the shopping while my husband is away on business. That means I am faced with the daunting task of managing coupons – by myself.

During the rest of year, I am not that good at keeping track of coupons anyway, but during the holidays there are even more ways to save and it drives me crazy.

Yesterday, I was in line at Target and I managed to use two coupons I clipped from a mailer plus I got 5% off for using my Target Red Card. Of course, I was also hitting the store’s sale racks and I had even used a couple of digital coupons from my phone.

But I still left the store disappointed in myself and wishing my husband had been there to help.

You see, I had forgotten a stack of manufacturer coupons on my kitchen counter.

So there I was, digging through my purse looking for them when the cashier started looking pointedly at the line growing behind me. Eventually, I gave in to the pressure and signed for my purchases.

It is a lot of work to make sure that you have the right pieces of paper, the right technology and the right date, time and location to optimize a shopping expedition.

In fact, when you are trying to optimize anything, it is a lot work to have every single duck lined up. And just one wayward duck can leave you feeling ineffective and exhausted.

Of course, saving 50 cents on frosting is nothing compared to the stress of optimizing a visit to the oncologist. No one wants to be sitting in the doctor’s office when they realize they forgot important paperwork.