I have a question

Tammy

My Mom goes Tuesday for her first Chemo treatment. She was wondering why they say eat dry toast? I would think they don't want you to sit down and eat a plate full of greasy eggs but could she eat a banana or a muffin? Just thought someone might be ablr to help. I am making blueberry muffins right now and thought if she could eat that before she went I would take one to her.

Tammy

Hi Tammy,

I have never heard that one! But, then again, I am still learning day after day!!

I ate everything I always did when I did my Chemo. I did NOT get sick. I got a little lightheaded the first few days, but that was about it! I ate Pizza while I did my chemo! I would guess it has to do with how she will react to the chemo, so they want it to be something soft. Which would be easier on her. I ate like a horse before my first chemo, cause I didn't know how much I would eat after!! :) Many members of my Lung Cancer Support Group never got sick with there chemo either. So, tell your mom to do what I did. Put a party hat on and go do her chemo with a positive attitude, and say to herself, and you, and anyone else she wishes to say this to: "I can do this and NOT GET SICK"! Mind over matter!

They have come a LONG ways with the new chemo's and anti-nausea drugs today. I know for me, I had to have my anti-nausea medication given to me very slowly before my chemo. It did seem to make the difference in the lightheadedness.

Good luck! Tell you to try really hard to stay positive. It really does help!

Warm and Gentle Hugs,