Scared to death of the Tarceva Pill

My name is Cindy, and I am very new to Lungevity. Hopefully, I will get this right. :) I am a lung cancer patient and have been for 1 year. I have been through several types of chemotherapy for the last 10 months. My oncologist feels I have had enough chemo indused into my body for now. He therefore is starting me on a targeted chemo pill called Tarceva. I have been reading and studying about this pill for the last week, and losing a lot of sleep over it. I am scared to death of the side effects I have been reading about. My main concern is the ugly rash that I may develop while taking Tarceva. I don't want my quality of life to lessen because I don't want to go out in public and be noticed. Anyway, if I could find somebody to talk/chat to about this pill,. I would greatly appreciate it. I think I would feel better mentally if I could actually talk to somebody who is going through the same thing I am about to experience. I have until next Monday, March 10, to make up my mind and notify my oncologist if I am going to press on with this or just decide not to take the pill altogether. I do understand everybody is different, and side effects affect everybody differently. Any information or experiences I can get will be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much in advance.

Cindy

Cindy MY wife dealt with this same issue when Tarcave first hit the market years ago.. was brand new to LC people... about 8 and half years ago.... she had the rash and the rash indicates it is working. rash was probably worst part of taking the drug as I recall... she also was scared to go out and did some great make up work when needed.. the rash does not always affect areas that are seen of course... her secret was Nivea with the blue cap and good non allergenic make up.... the decision is yours and yours alone to make but we are always here fro support