Been battling stage IV lung cancer for 8 mo.

pobuddy

I have been battling stage IV lung cancer for 8 months and going through my second series of chemo. I have a great support group of friends and family, but I am a bit of a loner and am struggling with the mental issues associated with this desease. I try to keep a possitive attitude and sense of humor, but inside I am scared of where this disease is going to affect me in the future? Right now I am still mobile, but get winded doing minor chores. I was recently prescribed suplimental oxygen, but find it restrictive. I am just looking for a group that knows what I am going through for a little piece of mind.

Well, you've come to the right place.

Stage IV, second line chemo and oxygen: been there and done that.  Depression and fighting it myself.  Did that also and it didn't work for this retired soldier.  When I finally got around to admitting depression to my doctor he said: "Well of course you are, who wouldn't be!"  The medication he prescribed helped.  So did the support group he recommended I attend.  Everyone in the group understood my fear and concern.  They knew everything I was experiencing.  I felt much better attending those sessions just knowing there were other people who'd been down the path I was on.  I didn't say much in my early meetings but listening to others was a tonic.

I had an oxygen leash for a while.  I gradually grew accustomed to "less wind in the sail" and stopped using it.  Gave the leased machine up after it sat unused for a couple of months.  Use it as you need it.  Buy one of these on Amazon - http://www.amazon.com/Pulse-Oximeter-Blood-Oxygen-Monitor/dp/B00HXXO332/ref=sr_1_4?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1449587638&sr=1-4&keywords=o2+level+monitor  and start tracking your O2 level.

LUNGevity has a LifeLine Support Program.  We match patients to survivors and you might benefit from talking to someone who understands what you are going through.  Details are here:  www.lungevity.org/lifeline