SCLC with Lambert-Eaton Myasthenia Syndrome

berkmi

Hello!  My name is Michelle & I'm new to the forums.  I'm the primary caregiver for my husband who is fighting Limited Stage, SCLC with Lambert-Eaton Myasthenia Syndrome (LEMS).  LEMS is a very rare disease which attacks only 3% of patients with SCLC and FORTUNATELY the way he was feeling was because of the LEMS, we know now.  So I can actually say, I'm thankful he is one of the 3%!  The LEMS had "activated" and he was unable to physically do anything!  By trade, he was a commercial electrician, so he needed to function.

He was first diagnosed with SCLC January of 2015, did the chemo and radiation, used CBD oil along with dietary changes. I know our family is very fortunate he is still so willing to fight! 

His PET scan in Aug. 2015 was negative for cancer.  The week of Thanksgiving was the next scan, which showed 2 lymph nodes lighting up...so he has started all over (no Cistplatin or radiation this time), but Taxol for his chemo drug this time. 

Any positive stories or info I could share with him for life after this?  Or caregiver tidbits?

Thanks! 

Welcome here Michelle!

After reading your post, I had to Google LEMS.  I thought I had a tough row to hoe.  I'm a non small cell squamous cell guy so I don't know how much of this tracks to small cell but I do know a thing or two about taxol.