first time here, need some input please

db1048

after discovering a mass on my lung received a bronchoscopy on Friday, last week.  after which my doctor said it was attached to a blood vessel and if he tried to biopsy it would bleed out.  also that there was nothing they could do in Victorville hospitals for it. said I would have to go to a hospital of "higher care". can anyone give me any info on what to expect from here.  I have an apt with this doctor this week but am very nervous.  I am 68. and since august of 2015, I have copd, on home oxygen, discovered 85% blockage in my heart.  would not take any kind of open surgery due to heart and copd.  I may be the tortoise right now, but I am not a quitter.  appreciate any feedback,

DB,

I'm not a doctor but from your description and what I know about lung cancer, I think your doctor who performed the bronchoscopy is implying is you'll need a surgical biopsy to discover the identity of the mass, that is, to determine if it is cancer or not.  But, with your weak heart, surgery may not be possible.  So, he is recommending you go to a larger hospital that is equipped to deal with folks with complicated problems.

From what you report, we don't know if the mass is cancer or not.  A biopsy would answer that question and also identify the type of cancer, if cancerous.  A PET scan would identify if the mass is cancerous, but not identify the type.  Confused?  Here is a good link to read into the disease: http://www.lungevity.org/about-lung-cancer/lung-cancer-101

I'd start with the section titled: Diagnosing Cancer.  Then I'd read the Types of Lung Cancer followed by Lung Cancer Staging.  If the mass is cancer, the doctors need to know the Type and the Stage before they can design a treatment plan.

You'll have many questions and you are most welcome to ask away.  A lot of folks here have been exactly where you are now.

Stay the course.

Tom

• 4 weeks later...