Stage 2a lung cancer

Bart

Hi all my name is Bart I was recently told I have stage 2a lung cancer. I'm a vet so the va is taking care of me. They are planning surgury in the next few weeks. I had heart surgury about 5 years ago. My heart is fine I'm pretty sure. My primary care doctor says this is curable and treatable because they caught it early. At this time it has not spred. I'm not really scared but concerned about surgury and chemo. I've read and seen awful things about chemo. I talk to the doctors on Monday. Has anyone decided to not have treatment and let our amune system fight it? I'm waying my options. I'm 66 any input would so helpful.

Bart,

Lots of people have declined treatment - Steve Jobs comes to mind as but one example.  And there is zero probability of one's immune system doing anything about your cancer.  Cancer cells are tissue made of cells that are produced by your normal bodily function and processes and thereby not recognizable by your immune system.

So I'd suggest treatment.  You described your cancer as IIA and that means a small tumor that is intact - not spread.  The most common means of dealing with tumors of this type and nature is surgical removal.  Then about six to eight weeks after surgery, chemotherapy is administered to kill or disrupt any cancer cells present in your bloodstream.  In truth, chemotherapy is not enjoyable but in my case, my infusion cycle consisted of the drugs Taxol and Carboplatin.  They were administered once every three weeks over the course of an eighteen week cycle.  Side effect only occurred for 3 days after each infusion.  They were not pleasant, nor was losing my hair, but they were tolerable and my hair grew back. 

You may also be presented with an alternate surgical procedure - radio-surgery often called CyberKnife or GamaKnife.  And these days, there is minimally invasive surgical procedures to minimizing the pain and debilitating effect.