NEW MEMBER HERE

retiredandrewired

I am new to the  forum and wish to introduce myself.  My name is Cynthia and I am a retired paralegal.  My 41 year old daughter was diagnosed with Stage IV Small Cell Lung Cancer in June 2017 and I now live with my daughter and two grandsons so I can help care for her.  Strangely enough, she continues to do all the cooking and 80% of all the household chores.  She refuses any kind of cancer treatment and will not keep her doctor appointments.  I am gravely concerned about her and beg her to slow down, especially when I know she is in excruciating pain.  The cancer has spread to the bones, brain, liver and adrenal glands.  She barely eats anything and continues to smoke justifying it by saying that quitting will not reverse the cancer diagnosis so she might as well do what she wants.    I would appreciate any suggestions you might have to help me cope with her destructive behavior.  I am at my wits end. 

I am sure that I posted this introduction in the wrong place but I could not find a New Member Forum.  

Good morning, Cynthia.  I'm so sorry about your daughter's diagnosis but she is fortunate to have someone who can offer so much assistance.  I can't begin to imagine your daughter's mindset; I sought all available treatment options as soon as I could.  Maybe she's scared, overwhelmed or confused by her diagnosis.  Lung cancer isn't the death sentence that it used to be, but without speaking to medical professionals, she won't have the opportunity to hear that.

All that you can do is be there for her and your grandsons.  She'll have to make any decisions regarding her future.