COPD and Lung Biopsies

TamaraA

I was diagnosed with COPD (severe emphysema) in 2014. Had a routine CT scan done 11/26/17 where a 9mm left apical speculated nodule was seen. PET/CT recommended. PET impression read, solitary speculated left apical nodule is hypermetabolic and likely malignant. Tissue diagnosis recommended. I was given the PET results at the end of the year and due to an insurance change had to find a new pulmonologist to order the biopsy. I am scheduled to see him on the 20th and the waiting is driving me mad.

I have been researching types of biopsies and there is very little I could find about the additional risk due to having COPD. Not sure which type would be best for me. Also, are the scan results positive it is cancer and the biopsy is for identifying and staging purposes? Hoping someone can give me some guidance. I am pretty scared.

Hi Tamara,

Welcome.  I am not an expert on biopsies, but I can tell you about my mom's experience with them.  My mom did (past tense) have COPD, the majority of it was in her right, upper lobe (her upper right lobe was removed as part of her cancer treatment).  This was also where her nodules were.  She had a regular needle biopsy (there are a couple of different types of biopsies) - she had no issues at all besides a sore throat for a few days.  Initially her pulmonologist was worried about her breathing during the procedure just because she had COPD and was severely overweight, but all went extremely well and she was in and out in a matter of a few hours. There are always higher risks for folks with COPD in any situation where they are sedated, but good pulmonologists and anesthesiologists are used to dealing with the challenges of COPD.