2 cancer centers giving 2 opposing recommendations--what to do

fauna13

My mother hasn't been officially diagnosed (no biopsy yet) but our regional cancer center (well respected but not top notch) and Hopkins both agree it is likely a lung cancer with lymph node involvement.  The PET scan shows two involved nodes, one in the hilum and one in the mediastinum (forgive me for any mistakes here as I have no medical background).  

The regional cancer center is advising a bronchoscopy and mediastinoscopy to biopsy the lymph nodes.  Hopkins agrees.

If the node in the mediastinum is negative (despite activity on the PET scan) the regional center intends to continue with surgery and remove the mass, even if the node in the hilum is positive.  They recommend chemo afterwards.  Johns Hopkins, on the other hand, is advising a biopsy only if any nodes are involved.  They want to do chemo and radiation concurrently first (even though radiation makes surgery more difficult they feel this is the best protocol), followed by surgery.  Hopkins only wants to proceed with surgery first if there is no node involvement.  

If the node in the mediastinum is positive, the regional center recommend no surgery and chemo followed by radiation or surgery.  The surgeon wants to follow chemo with surgery but said repeatedly that we might be advised to follow with radiation only.  Hopkins, on the other hand, wants to start with concurrent chemo/radiation and follow with surgery.

I have no medical background and, though I can read studies, find it difficult to negotiate this decision.  To make it even more confusing, Hopkins did tell me that Sloan Kettering does not follow the same approach as Hopkins but moves forward as our regional cancer center advises, proceeding with surgery if the central node is negative, despite involvement of nodes in the hilum.