NSCLC Recurrence?

Treebugaz

Hi, All. I’m new to the posting although I’ve referenced the group’s info many times. 

My story is stage 1A NSCLC. Surgery only 9/2016. I’ve been screened with chest CTs every six months by my pulmonologist and blood work every 3 months by a naturopathic oncologist I connected with on my own. 

For the past four months I’ve been feeling pretty poorly, really tired and abnormal headaches. Two months ago started an on and off pain in my left rib cage.

In mid October, Oncologist ordered blood work and Circulating Tumor Cell test. Blood work was normal, but CTC came back positive = 2. (One year ago my CTC test was negative = 0) My CEA has consistently been dropping over the last year. Last CEA test in May 2018 was .6–as of last week it has risen to 1.0. 

Last week, I also had a CT with contrast of the chest, abdomen, and pelvis which came back negative. 

I’m looking for feedback and insight from anyone with similar experiences with rising CEA (not associated to treatment) or with a positive CTC test. 

Needless to say, I’m concerned. I have two small children (2yrs and 6yrs) and a husband, all of whom I’d like to live for a long time for. 

More insight, I lost my grandfather (42yr), father (59), and sister (34) to this disease. I wish we were all meeting each other under different circumstances, but here we are. 

Thanks, in advance, for your responses. 

HI Trebugaz and welcome. I can see why you're concerned, not feeling welll and these two test results. Unfortunately, i don't have any experience with these tests. I wonder if you're looking at possible causes of your symtoms that aren't cancer related..

Bridget O

Treebugaz,

I'm aware that Circulating Tumor Cell (CTC) testing is used for types of breast, colorectal, and prostate cancer but did not realize this testing is effective for NSCLC. I have no experience CEA testing so I can't offer any assistance.

A clean CT scan ought to be worthy of celebration. 

Stay the course.

Tom