Awaiting Biopsy Results

MBegala

50 year old, never-smoker

Routine chest x-ray for several week old cough with pain when breathing found suspicious spot on left lung.

CT done as a follow-up and the scan found:

• right lung: spiculated noncalcified mass in the posterior costophrenic angle, 21 x 18 mm
  • left lung: small left pleural effusion with left lower lobe atelectasis, which may or may not be milgnant
  • left lung: pleural-based nodule in the lateral segment of the left upper lobe, 21 x 12 mm
  • few, shotty lymph nodes in the mediastinum
  • both CT findings documented by the radiologist as "malignant until otherwise proven"

CT-guided biopsy of the right lung mass conducted on 12/6 - awaiting results...

Question:

• Is it routine for the radiologist to include language "malignant until otherwise proven" as a CYA, or is it a sign that this is likely cancer?

Hi MBegala and welcome. 

I'm not a doctor, keep in mind. I think that it is probable that the language"malignant until proven otherwise" is both a CYA and a sign that it is likely cancer. Doctors with a lot of experience can tell quite a bit from a CT.  My pulmonologist thought that my nodule was typical of cancer and not typical of metastasis-- I had had a prior non-lung cancer so metastasis to lung was  a  concern.  "Spiculated" is a clue-- the shape is suggestive of lung cancer. Of course there was no way to tell for sure until biopsy. There are a lot of other causes for nodules.  Good you've had a biopsy already so you don't have to wait too long. Waiting for test results is really hard for most of us. Biopsy will tell you whether it's cancer and what type generally. If it does show cancer, be sure that biomarker tesing is done -- it's sometimes called molecular testing or  tumor genetics. This will  give information about what kind of treatment will work best. Samples generally have to be sent out to specialized labs for this testing, so it takes a while to get results.