WHAT ABOUT THE SECOND OPINION?

DAVID D

There is always questions about second opinions.  The most common question seems to be, "did you get a second opinion"?.  Often it is posed as a suggestion such as, "why don't you get a second opinion"?

I've been hearing about the second opinion thing for 50 years and I still do not understand.  If you get a "second opinion" and it differs from the initial opinion what do you do?    Go with the one that your well meaning friends suggest?    Go with the one which is least painful?   Flip a coin?  Consult an astrologist?

I happen to be caught up in this dilemma.  One surgeon says he can not operate,  the second opinion says bs , of course we can operate. 

Which one would you choose?   Why???

I never got a second opinion.  My cancer was fairly straightforward and the pulmonologist's and surgeon's explanations and recommendations lined up with the reading I'd done.  I also was very confident of their expertise.  

If one of the surgeons says s/he can't do surgery, that option is out, for that particular surgeon.  Based on what you've described, I would be feeling a bit uncomfortable about the fact that that doctor didn't make a referral to an oncologist for some other type of treatment, making me a bit less confident, maybe, in that doctor's judgment.  I don't believe you've told us what it is about your wife's situation that leads him to believe that surgery is inappropriate.

Let me ask you this--the patient is your wife, not you.  What does she think about all of this?  What does she want to do?  What are her primary concerns?

David,

You are posing a Descartes dilemma: “I doubt, therefore I think, therefore I am”.  You want a sure answer but will still have doubt. One can never remove doubt. All decisions carry consequences.  Only a no decision yields no consequence but no results either.