TB with lung cancer??

We went to my husbands scheduled 5th Tecentriq immunotherapy appointment today and to get his scan results- 1st there are new growths - but the more alarming issue was the doctor came into the room with a mask and a mask for my husband and said he had the pulmonary doctor review my husbands scan and they believe he may have tuberculosis???? 

Has anyone ever heard of this? He claims it would have come from chemo/immunotherapy?? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

He has SCLC extensive- with brain mets. 

I’m not a doctor and don’t know a lot about this. I do know the Tuberculosis can lay dormant in a person.  I don’t think chemo treatments can cause TB.  I imagine the treatments affected his bodies ability to continue to repress it and it is no longer dormant.  I use to have to get tested annually for TB with a PPD test for my job.  My test would always come back positive and I would have to get cleared by a chest X-ray.  The doctors were never concerned because they said I had no signs of active disease based on the X-Rays, but apparently I had been exposed to TB at some point.  When I first started tracking the lung nodule they tested me again for TB to be sure the spot wasn’t caused by that.  It came back negative.  I haven’t had to have chemo so I don’t know if I would encounter similar issues.  

TB is treated with antibiotics and is curable in most cases.  I hope your husband gets better soon and can complete his chemo and immunity treatments.  

Thank you. He has completed his first round of chemo back in January, he is on Tecentriq for maintenance. He is a firefighter, he has been tested for that and was negative.

I appreciate your response- I will say the nurses didn’t make it seem like it is was going to be easy peasy if he is TB active disease, she made it seem like it cane with a lot of extra treatments etc. 

thank you