Introduce Myself

Jeanie

Hi all.   I’m Jeannie, and I’m new to cancer-world and really like the idea of having a place to share information and experiences.    I was diagnosed mid-February with Stage IV NSCLC with an EGFR mutation.   I had no history, risk factors or symptoms, just a precautionary chest-x-ray.   My doc just wanted to know whether my 2-week flu had developed into an infection.   Hearing the diagnosis, my wonderful husband and I fell right down the rabbit hole of terror, sadness, dumbfounded ness, and the consuming need to learn absolutely everything we could.   Six weeks later we’re still in that mode.  But, I’m also on Day 7 of Tagrisso, and I am part of a clinical trial at MD Anderson testing the efficacy of combining Tagrisso with local consolidated therapy (radiation or surgery) compared to Tagrisso alone on my type of cancer.  So far, so good.   It will be a couple of months before I know if I’ve been randomized into the experimental or control group.  Some others on this forum may also be part of the trial.    So far, other than riding an emotional roller coaster and exploring every supplemental approach that has made life with cancer easier for others.    I’d love to hear from others of who are open to sharing suggestions about what I might learn and do.    Nice to meet you!!

Hello Jeanie and welcome.  I haven’t had to have treatment beyond surgery but I am a fellow EGFR “mutant”.  Did they tell you which EGFR mutation you have?  There are different ones.  

A rabbit hole is a good description of what it’s like after diagnosis.  Just make sure you are looking up and finding the light outside that hole when you can.  There are lots of advancements and lots of hope in the treatment of lung cancer.  

Hi Jeanie,