Hello from England my name is Johnny

Hi all,

Just a quick message to say that I was a lung cancer sufferer and had my left lung removed last October, I struggle with my breathing now but I’ve pushed  myself every day to do walking and now cycling.

I don’t go far but I wait and listen to my body to tell me when to stop.

If there’s anyone else out there that’s going through this, they want to know my story, or I’d like to hear yours of how you’ve  improved your  breathing function and mobility. 

all the very best 

Johnny Black

Hi Johnny.  I had an upper right lobe lobectomy three mo the ago.  I am very focused on regaining my lung capacity.  It’s been slow but I’m getting there.  

Hi Johnny,

I think Curt and are just a couple of weeks apart on surgery.  I am determined to increase my cardio and endurance.  I started playing tennis a couple of days a week - no matches just yet.  I definitely notice the difference in my breathing and limitations.  I was just saying that I should go for a series of lessons to further develop my skill so I won't have to run so much!   It's getting a little better each week.  I've added  intervals...1 minute walk, 1 minute run  for 2 miles on the days I'm not playing tennis.  I started a free weights class 2 times a week.  At this point, I am just so happy that I can do all of these things.  My surgeon told me that after 12 weeks I should be back to normal (not sure what the new normal will be).  So, since it's been 9 weeks tomorrow, I still have 3 weeks to go.  

15 hours ago, Curt said:

Hi Johnny.  I had an upper right lobe lobectomy three mo the ago.  I am very focused on regaining my lung capacity.  It’s been slow but I’m getting there.