6mm Nodule

Angie2

I'm new to this set of forums, and this is my first post. During a recent hospital stay, imaging revealed a 6mm nodule in the right upper lobe.  I was told to wait 6 months, then have another CT scan to determine any growth.  I have a close friend with the same circumstances 1-1/2 years ago.  after two 6 month ct scans with now growth, he has now been diagnosed with terminal stage 4 lung cancer.  It is also in his lymph glands.  I want to avoid a similar fate, and made an appointment with Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa.  My question is am I being overly cautious, and will Moffitt possibly consider a biopsy now?  The anxiety of waiting six months is appealing.

Hi Angie,

The waiting is one of the worst parts of anyone's cancer journey.  Are you being overly cautious? -Yes, but this is your life we are talking about, what's wrong with being overly cautious? 

When my mom's nodules were being monitored, she had scans every 3 months, which is what I typically hear of.  You may want to question the length of time between scans.  Relatively small nodules like you have can be tough to biopsy, so that may not be an option right now.  Some folks have been offered a wedge resection or lobectomy because the nodule was suspicious enough to warrant it and the procedure would likely not have lasting negative effects.  Once the nodule is removed, it can then be tested for cancer and further procedures/treatments can be discussed.

If you are thinking about wanting a second opinion, go for it, you have nothing to lose.  You can also ask for justification from your current docs as to why 6 months between scans versus 3 months, etc.  

Have you had a PET scan or just the CT?  If no PET scan, I would ask why not.